"Encroachments Stressed at Inupiat Paitot Conference"

Tundra Times, November 1, 1962, p.15.


Encroachment of land, hunting and fishing rights, the need for more schools, more employment, better housing, and economic development was stressed at the recent Inupiat Paitot conference at Kotzebue.

Twenty-eight delegates from widely separated Eskimo villages attended the three-day meeting held at Cudd (Parish) Hall.

James Officer, assistant commissioner of the BIA was main speaker. Talks were also made by Dr. Paul Phillips, chief of project planning for economic development and Dr. John Abrahamson, chief economist, BIA, both from Washington, D.C.

Each delegate made village reports of problems. Some of these reports will be covered in this issue of the Tundra Times while others will be reported in future issues.

A copy of the official statement adopted by the Inupiat Paitot conference will be sent in about three weeks to anyone requesting such statement.

In order that the Inupiat Paitot organization might function year-around, bylaws were adopted and officers were elected. Guy A. Okakok of Barrow was unanimously elected executive secretary; and Martha Teeluk of College, Tony Joule of Kotzebue, and Paul Tiulana of King Island were elected members of the executive committee.

The executive committee will make decisions and release statements of policy throughout the year.

Other guests at the meeting included Ross L. Miller, Prentiss Gazaway, Charles Hall, R.D. Hollingsworth, and Arthur Nagozruk of the BIA, Juneau, and Ross Youngblood and Dan Jones, of the Bureau of Land Management, Fairbanks.

Alfred Ketzler, chairman of the Dena Nena Henash, Indian organization, Interior Alaska, was an honorary guest.

The delegates were Guy Okakok, Barrow; David Kagak, Wainwright; Herman Rexford, Kaktovik (Barter Island); James Hawley, Kivalina; Tony Joule, Jack Jones, Fletcher Gregg, Kotzebue; Joe Carter, Noorvik; Felton Commack, Kobuk; and Emma Willoya, Nome.

Paul Tiulana, Nome-King Island; David Saccheus, Elim; Frank Degnan, Unalakleet; George I. Dan, Stebbins; Bill Amouak, Marshall; August Seton, Hooper Bay; Willis Walunga, Gambell (St. Lawrence Island).

Timothy Kameroff, Aniak; Howard Rock, Fairbanks-Pt. Hope; Charles Degnan, College; Martha Teeluk, Kwiguk and College; Vern Eutuk, Shishmaref; Herbert Onalik, Noatak; Simon Paneak, Anaktuvuk Pass.

Willy Goodwin, Kotzebue; George Washington, Buckland; and Edward J. Shavings, Mekoryuk (Nunivak Island).